Wednesday, September 17, 2008

If you like it...

How about you? Is there a book you’d love to read that hasn’t been written? What do you love reading about, and how could you write about it? What fascinates you that could become the subject for your next story, essay, poem, or blog post?

Yes, there is one book I’d love to read and has not been written –the one I am trying to write.

And, (elementary Watson?) if I put that much effort in writing a book it has to be good enough for me to read it. Though I wrote mainly poetry recently and, on the side, some case studies on Equal Employment Opportunities , my dream is to write a novel. But counting on how slow I write it will probably be done , if ever done, in the next ten years. So, for now I have to be content with what others wrote – and I am.
What do I like to read about?

Honestly, I do not care so much about the subject itself as much as the narrative. The subjects are more or less the same: love, death, war, peace, God…it is how somebody writes about them that makes the difference.
I like to read a good story , and to exemplify what I do mean by a good story : Chronicle of a Death Foretold. I love to read a book that tackles on my own issues and questions (yes, the mememe subject). I like to read a book that shows me the world from a new perspective. I love books that are like a pat on the back and tell me it is all going to be ok like Ondaatje’s Divisadero. But I will fall for any book that can capture my short attention span and carry me in its world. I love when the characters are “living” and when the story flows naturally (Lolita), even if I disagree with the subject. I love books that make me laugh and books that make me cry.

My subject?

My subject is my obsession, my very own reason for unhappiness. It can be sometimes personal, but in some cases it is an issue that just saddens me, like terrorism. While I am not that much of a Balzac’s fan I agree with him: happy people do not write well. I also come to agree with one of my friends: if you are unhappy about the state of events do not bicker about it, do something about it. And if cannot take action, at least write. But if you do write – at least do it well.
I also think that in order to be able to write about the big issues one has to learn to write about the small things in life – and I should probably remember more often to practice on that. For example I would like to write about fingers , don’t you agree that fingers is always a fascinating subject? I should probably write for people that visit this blog and are kind enough to read my posts. So, if you got to the end of this post and you are not already bored, you tell me: what would you like me to tell you about? I’ll try my best.

7 comments:

gingatao said...

Hands and fingers are fascinating subjects and can reveal a great deal. I am afraid I would have to disagree that happy people do not write well. I think unhappy people like to believe that because it makes them feel better about being unhappy. They thing at least their unhappiness has some point in that it allows them to write well. Unhappy people often use these kinds of things to make themselves feel comfortable and justified in their unhappiness. I am happy and so are many of my friends who write well. If you asking for subject matter I would be interested in your native language and how you feel it differs from English. Language is always a fascinating topic for me. Hope you are having a fantabulous day full of tiny miracles like unexpected flowers blooming,
Paul.

anthonynorth said...

I only half agree with Balzac. True, you have to suffer adversity, I think, to be a true writer. But it is possible to come to terms with yourself, grasp happiness, and still have the ability.

gautami tripathy said...

Not all great writers are unhappy. Out of happiness, one can get beautiful words.

Depth of hell pours forth tirade of words

Annamari said...

Paul,

I cannot argue with you, you do write well. And if you say you are happy, I can only take your word for it.

As for the blooming flowers, I am afraid this is the wrong hemisphere for that...but I’ll try to imagine some for the sake of fantabulousity.Thanks.

Gautami,
You might be right. But, I also think he meant content and not happy. I also think he did not meant that great writers are not happy, but that they can get terribly unhappy or happy, that their feelings and experiences and beliefs are not lukewarm.

Anthony,

Yes, a happy person at the end of a long road, still has something to say.

gingatao said...

Fantabulousity, cool

Jeanie said...

Yes, stories with a good narrative! You're right -- I've read lots of things on subjects not on my top 10 list, but because they are so well written, the characters so intriguing and the visual so strong, I'm sucked in.

I must think about the obsession thing -- that has both been something that has helped and derailed me!

Becca said...

Different kinds of writing evolve from happiness and unhappiness...I think one can write well from both perspectives :)